SSMS access and code formatting

• Hi Everyone,

I am new to T-SQL and I need to write some basic code on a dev server. What is the best way to connect to the server ? Should I install the SSMS on my desktop and connect to the server or remote desktop to the server and launch the SSMS from the sever?

Also where do I save the code I write on my local desktop or on the server? how to separate my code from others developers?

last is there a built in code formatter in SSMS? if not, what you guys use.

Thanks a lot!

• Install & use SSMS locally.

Don't run SSMS on the server. You don't want the overhead or security risks of remote desktop, let alone SSMS, on the server if you can avoid it. The slippery slope might lead you to want to use a web browser on the server too.

See https://canro91.github.io/2020/09/30/FormatSQL/ for a couple free SSMS extensions that support code formatting. I haven't used them.

I do use RedGate SQL Prompt, which is not free, but is valuable.

• Also, check with the other Developers in the company.  You should be checking your code into some form of source control.  They should also have a "onboarding" process that lets you know all of this even if you've been at the company for a while.

P.S. I'm not sure how you figure you're "new to SQL".  You have a few posts on this site starting more than 6 years ago. 😉

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)

• Make Sense.

Do you know how much is the license for Redgate?

• Thank you and Yes I did posted something 6 years ago as I was assigned to take over a project but was later dropped.