SSIS and running on a schedule

• This is my first attempt at SSIS, unfortunately its for work. I have a folder with csv's in it, i need a script to loop through this and import into the database once every month.

I have managed to script the bulk insert, but how do i now loop through the files and pass the name of each file into the SP that runs the bulk insert and run on a schedule.

Many thanks

Darryl Wilson
    darrylw99@hotmail.com

• Use the for each loop container.

• I am totally new to SSIS, i have no idea even where to start.

I know i need to loop through list of files in a folder and i need to run a package every month, but after that i am lost.

DW

Darryl Wilson
    darrylw99@hotmail.com

• Start with this link on the for each loop container

Once you have the package working you can create a SQL Job and schedule it to run when needed...once a month ect.

• If you are new to it you will love this[/url]. Good luck!

• You can loop through the directory using SSIS, which isn't too crazy to do, but if you're still learning SSIS and just need a quick and dirty solution you can use xp_cmdshell if you have it enabled on the server.

Here's an example:

DECLARE @tmpDIR TABLE (DirOutput NVARCHAR(255))

INSERT INTO @tmpDIR

EXECUTE xp_cmdshell N'dir e:\test1'

SELECT RIGHT(DirOutput,LEN(DirOutput)-39) FROM @tmpDIR WHERE DirOutput LIKE '%.txt'

And your output will be all files in E:\Test1 with TXT extension. You may need to play with the spacing as on our server the DIR listing is fixed width with 39 characters to the left of the file name, but I think it may be alittle different depending on which version of windows you're using. But either way once you get the DIR listing into SQL you can parse it however you please.

For more info on xp_cmdshell see http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms175046.aspx since there can be some security boo-yeah's you might want to read-up on.

Sam

• sam.alexander (8/31/2011)