sql_variant

• I've just seen the schema of an application under development, which is designed to be 'flexible'. It takes data of all sorts into a single table, putting the value into a sql_variant field and other fields will describe the 'field name' and record the base type.

I've never used sql_variant before, as it's one of those things I'd instinctively avoid. And when I saw the schema, my first reaction was that I don't want to be downstream of this application. I can't help feeling that Mr Codd wouldn't like it.

But perhaps I'm being unfair....is it time I loosened up?

Have any of you chaps any experience of this, and concrete reasons why it is or isn't a good idea.

Thanks,

David McKinney.

• The variant doesn't scare me (much), but everything into one table? How many users are expected to access this? What does the indexing look like? Has anyone vetted the design under simulated load?

If the the answers to the last three questsions are no or don't know, run screaming.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• The app takes as input a csv'ish file which comes from a 3rd party reporting tool. However the app is trying to allow flexibility with the actual columns in input. i.e. allow input columns to be added and be automatically incorporated.

Basically the application then outputs more csv type files of a different format, generated from the input files. The output should also 'benefit' from the same flexibility.

So I can see where he's coming from...

I'm sort of thinking that this approach is ok providing this table isn't the definitive storage point for any important data -- that data could pass through this structure for the purposes of a transformation, but that any business critical data should reside elsewhere, in strongly typed fields.

What do you think?