SQL Server 2012 - not accepting new connections on occasion ...

• SQL Server 2012 running on Windows Server 2012 R2.

Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (SP4-GDR) (KB4583465) - 11.0.7507.2 (Intel X86)

This occurs occasionally, maybe once every 2 weeks or so, the DB server does not accept new connections.

Existing connections are OK, but it will not accept new ones.

It requires a restart of the SQL Server service and then it all works again.

• I'm looking to see if this is a known bug?
    • How to diagnose further?

Thanks

Disclaimer - I'm really a developer and part time DBA as there is no one else to do this !

• This topic was modified 3 months, 3 weeks ago by  DATAdmin1.
    • This topic was modified 3 months, 3 weeks ago by  DATAdmin1. Reason: Version is actually SQL Server 2012 - my mistake !
    • This topic was modified 3 months, 3 weeks ago by  DATAdmin1.
  • I would start by reviewing the logs. Check the SQL logs and windows logs during that period as one of the logs will have something that will tell you where to look.

Now, that being said, SQL Server 2019 is NOT supported on Windows Server 2012 R2. You must be on Windows Server 2016 or newer. So the problem COULD be the OS isn't supported. See this link for other requirements for SQL 2019:

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sql/sql-server/install/hardware-and-software-requirements-for-installing-sql-server-2019?view=sql-server-ver16

IF you have a test environment that is having the same behavior, I would recommend looking at upgrading the test environment and see if that solves it. IF you don't have a test environment, I would still recommend upgrading to a supported configuration and see if that fixes things.

IF you cannot upgrade, I'd review the logs. If the logs are not helpful, you may be stuck doing restarts of the service intermittently until you can upgrade.

The above is all just my opinion on what you should do.