SQL newbie, question about primary key.

• Hello, SQL newbie here. I've got a question about the proper use of primary keys, hoping someone can help out.

Let's say I establish an HR database and decide that, since Social Security numbers are unique and non-repeating, I'm gong to use SS numbers as my primary key. Something like this:

Name, Title,  Social_Security_Number

Joe Smith, Accountant,  123-45-6789

Jim Jones, IT Staff,  321-54-9876

AmyWhite, Sales,  111-22-3333

Now, when an employee leaves the company I delete his entry in the DB. But let's say the employee returns a year later to a new position. I want to add him to the DB again. Is there a way to do that? Is there a way to force MS SQL to reuse a primary key? Or is this a good argument for having the Primary Key simply be a separate auto-incrementing column and having the SocialSecurity column simply be unique by constraint?

• This topic was modified 3 years, 2 months ago by  SerolfDivad.
    • This topic was modified 3 years, 2 months ago by  SerolfDivad.
  • Social Security numbers are considered PII and are a attribute of an individual/company and should be stored securely and are for this reason a bad choice for PK - other reasons exist but this alone should make you considering excluding it.

I'm sure others will jump in with other reasons NOT to use it

• Such as they are not really unique: https://www.nbcnews.com/technolog/odds-someone-else-has-your-ssn-one-7-6C10406347