SQL newbie looking for Indexing advise

• Greetings SCC members! Allow me to preface by stating I am VERY new to db design and tuning. I am a ColdFusion developer and recently I've been asked to design a complete database from scratch. I've built the necessary tables and populated some test data. There are roughly 20 tables in the design with very strict PK/FK referential integrity between them. Every table has a Primary Key with a Clustered Index on the Primary Key. Potentially, there will be 100's of thousands of records in the main party_relationship table. My question, is how do I determine which column(s) should be indexed?

One of the more heavily used queries is attached (it's a doosie!).

P.S. - This is my first time posting on SCC forums. If I left something out, please let me know.

• Good grief! That is a doosie 🙂

Anyhow, I would suggest that you index the columns used in your join conditions and those columns used in your where clause.

If you have anything other than SQL Express you could run the query through the database query tuning advisor - it will recommend required indices. You can let it know the expected number of rows, etc so that your (possibly) small amount of data during development isn't what's used for estimating work done in a production environment.

In any edition of MS SQL 2005 you can run the query in the sql server management studio with the graphical execution plan displayed. You want to examine that plan and ensure you eliminate table scans or clustered index scans (although in the latter case if you were after a range of records such as dates and you had clustered on that then a scan may be appropriate). There are a few good articles on http://www.sql-server-performance.com about this

• Not only is it a "doosie", but it's darned near a duplicate...

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/Forums/Topic435994-361-1.aspx

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.