SQL 2012 Standard - Index highly fragmented

• Hi there,

Complete newb.  Need some guidance.

Running SQL 2012, running INFOR ERP.  Indexes are constantly fragmented... it's like whack a mole.  Server is set to index nightly but sometimes, queries run slow and we have to re-index on the spot.  Once re-index, back SQL queries are back to normal.  Can anyone provide me with some guidance as to why this is happening and where to look.

Thanks.

• There are tons of people here more knowledgeable about indexing than I on here, but a couple things spring immediately to mind:

Are you doing something really nuts like SHRINKDB() all the time? (Shudder!)

Are you deleting lots of records?

• Definitely not doing any SHRINKDB().  No idea about deleting records... how do I tell?  I can say that some indexes rebuild from a 98% frag.....  rebuild will take it down to less than 1%, give it an hour and that save index will have a 90%+ frag.  I don't even know how this is possible.  Just curious to what I need to look out for.

• Most times that I've seen a dramatic improvement in performance after index rebuild it was due to the fact that statistics were also updated and the query plan was modified.  This caused a modification in the query plan.   There is a good chance that if you'll update statistics on this table, you'll see better performance.  Can you check if your query plan before and after the index rebuild are different?  If they are, then you can create a job that runs every few hours and update statistics to the needed tables.

• To understand what's happening, I'd suggest capturing some metrics.