Sprint's New Business Model

• Apathy

In May 2007, J.D. Power and Associates passed out trophies to the nation's wireless service providers. Sprint Nextel came in dead last in customer satisfaction, receiving no acknowledgment whatsoever. Sprint CEO and Chairman Scott Forsee has a plan to turn around his customers' dissatisfaction, though. In a moment of Trump-like clarity, Mr. Forsee has decided to fire his customers!

Apparently Sprint Nextel runs reports on their customers and determines which ones call Customer Service the most. Then it cancels their service. This could actually be a highly efficient model for dealing with customer complaints, or for driving a company into bankruptcy. After all, if your #1 problem is customers, why not just get rid of them?

Now for the part that really makes me angry. Being an old soldier myself, when I read that Sprint Nextel summarily canceled service for an entire unit of soldiers that had recently returned from Iraq, I was dumbfounded. These soldiers were temporarily assigned to West Point, NY upon their return to the U.S. They bought Sprint Nextel "Roaming Included Plans" to keep in touch with families and then had their service canceled for "roaming too much" during their temporary assignment! These soldiers put life and limb on the line for their country halfway around the world, and Sprint Nextel treated them like crap when they got home. I was so upset about this I just had to call 1-800-SPRINT1 and let them know how I feel.

Customer Letter

Sprint Nextel's competitors should consider offering these disconnected soldiers and rejected former-Sprint Nextel customers a good deal on a new service. Most of the rejected customer contracts end on July 30, and these soldiers (and civilians) need a home.