Side-by-side Data Regions (SSRS2008)

• I have a customer asking for a report formatted in a way I've never done before. Attached is a picture of an example of the layout. (The coloring is just to point out the fields that need to match. They won't be that way on the report.)

Basically, the left three columns will print for each sales person. The columns to the right contain the detailed information for each sales person, and can have a variable number of lines.

The left columns contain the earliest and latest dates from the details as the date range, the largest number of unit sales, and the total of all sales for that person.

I'm thinking I need two tablixes side by side. That usually presents a problem with alignment. Has anyone done something similar with SSRS? Does anyone have any ideas that might be a better solution?

TIA,

Wayne

• You can defnitely do this with SSRS. You may need 1 or more subreports, but it is definitely doable. The right would be the subreport.

Jared
    CE - Microsoft

• To keep two or more data regions together physically on render, put them into a rectangle. The rectangle will control the positioning of all of its contained items.

That being said - it looks like a single Matrix control might be of more use to you. You can use parent groups, child groups, and adjacent groups for both rows and columns.

[font="Courier New"]Looking for a Deadlock Victim Support Group..[/font]
  • Thanks. Someone here suggested the matrix approach, too, so I'm going to give that a shot. I've never used a matrix in that manner, but I can see how it will do what I'm looking for.