Shrink command

• What does the shrink command exactly?

I start the shrink command in the Enterprise Manager of SQL7/2000. Does it include re-indexing of all tables?

And is it the same command as auto-shrink can be selected in the db properties?

Thanks for your info

mipo

• This was removed by the editor as SPAM

• Here is what I know and it is not a lot. I'm not an expert.

The shrink command will remove unused space from the DB. If preformed after a backup or translog backup, it will chance the sizes of the data and trans log files even if the file sizes were set when you created the DB. This also depends on the recovery model you have your DB set up at (Full, Simple, Bulk-loading)

Auto shrink runs about every 30 minutes and shrinks the DB. I'm NOT sure if it does the exact same operation as the shrink command.

I drought the shrink command re-indexes. If you have a maintenance plan, you can set the DB to shrink and reindex separately.

• Quoted from BOL.

"SQL Server 2000 autoshrinks databases that have a large amount of free space. Only those databases where the autoshrink option has been set to true are candidates for this process. The server checks the space usage in each database periodically. If a database is found with a lot of empty space and it has the autoshrink option set to true, SQL Server reduces the size of the files in the database. You can also use SQL Server Enterprise Manager or the DBCC SHRINKDATABASE and DBCC SHRINKFILE statements to shrink the files of a database manually.