Set Based Triggers

• Hi Guys,

I am a newbie to SQLServer and I have a question about set-based triggers.

I am trying to write all my triggers so they are set based, like the following:

UPDATE [ORDER]

SET TONNAGE_QTY = (SELECT i.ORDER_QTY * p.TONNAGE_PER_ITEM

FROM PRODUCT p,

inserted i,

[ORDER] o

WHERE p.PRODUCT_ID = i.PRODUCT_ID AND

o.ORDER_ID = i.ORDER_ID),

UPDATED_BY = @User,

UPDATED_DATE = @Date

WHERE [ORDER].ORDER_ID IN (SELECT ORDER_ID FROM inserted)

This insert trigger updates a column in the ORDER table to a value derived from another ORDER table column multiplied a value in the product table.

I was just wondering if I have the right idea. Also I want to default another colum (TONNAGE_BALANCE) in the ORDER Table to the same calculated value as TONNAGE_QTY. Do I need to perform the calculation again ie: duplicate the assignment select or is there a cooler way to do it.

I remember reading somewhere something about not using cursrors in SQLServer cause they are slow, but assigment selects in set based triggers makes it kinda tricky cause I can't assign to a local variable to reuse and bloats code somewhat. Unless I'm off my tree.

Thanks in advance.

Rich O'Connor

Rich O'Connor

• This was removed by the editor as SPAM

• Yes, triggers are set based. Ideally you write your code to do what you need in a single set based operation, but there are times when you need to process each row singly (a good example is when you need to execute logic in a stored proc that needs params passed) and when you hit those, a cursor is the right way to do it.

Using triggers to maintain denormalized values is ok (better than relying on the application to do it), if it's just a simple calculation you might find it easier/cleaner to go with a computed column.

Andy

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/columnists/awarren/

• Thanks Andy,

for a few days there I thought I might have to change the topic subject to FREE BEER!!! to get a response. 😎