Running SQL batch file, need confirmation of execution

• hi

i want to run a SQL reindexing query from a batch file.

i have the query saved on the c: drive. i have put this query into my batch file

sqlcmd -S myservername -i c:\BackupScripts\SQLReindex.sql

it seems to run ok when i type it into a CMD window (see attached)

is it possible to get a confirmation that it ran and if there were any errors etc. i want to create a task in task scheduler to reindex the DataBase each week and get confirmation.

i'm new to SQL queries so go easy :p (also hopefully i've posted in the correct forum?)

thanks

• This topic was modified 2 years, 8 months ago by  NorthernSky.
    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
  • Why are you using a file to run a batch from?  Why not a stored procedure?

Also, any chance of you posting your SQLReIndex.sql file?  I ask because it appears to have done a REORGANIZE.  For more than 2 decades, people have been using a set of "Best Practices" for index maintenance that are actually the very worst practices and almost everyone has mistaken what REORGANIZE actually does (it actually PERPETUATES fragmentation).

And, no... I'm not some hack that's trying to troll some new person.  Google me if you want.

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)

• I agree with Jeff here on not using a bat file for this UNLESS you are on SQL Express.  If you are on SQL Standard or higher, then I would use a SQL Agent Job to run the query.