Retrieve Password from CyberArk using powershell

• Hi, I am new to Powershell script and i have to create a power shell script to get password for SQL service account

from CyberArk.. Could you please suggest how to do that ?

• I don't know about CyberArk but I would hope that getting a Password for an SQL Service Account couldn't actually be done in such an easy fashion.

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)

• there is documentation for it - https://docs.cyberark.com/Product-Doc/OnlineHelp/AAM-CP/Latest/en/Content/CP%20and%20ASCP/Net-Application-Password-SDK.htm?tocpath=Developer%7CCredential%20Provider%7CApplication%20Password%20SDK%7C.NET%20Application%20Password%20SDK%7C_____0

as in powershell you can use any .net dll's its just a question of setting up a script to do it.

I may be able to provide the basis for one next few days.

but main issue here - except for a few rare exceptions a SQL Server instance should either run under a local account (for which you don't have a password at all) or under a MSA/GMSA - for which again you don't have passwords you can use/manage.

so if your setup is using a "normal" user as a service account you should be looking into replacing it instead of trying to automate getting and updating its password

• Jeff Moden wrote:

I don't know about CyberArk but I would hope that getting a Password for an SQL Service Account couldn't actually be done in such an easy fashion.