Restricting DB storage growth within AWS instance

• Hello all,

We have an issue where within an RDS instance the tempdb recreates more files when FULL even when the growth is set to a limited size.

Which setting disables this option as we do not want the TEMPDB to grow beyond it's LIMIT.

Thank you

JR

• What IS the limit you're trying to set it to, how many files does it have, and how big is your largest table/index?

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)

• Hello,

Thanks for replying...

I am new to AWS and did not set up the instance, the problem is that when the TEMPDB grows even though the existing files are capped ( each a certain size capped )  AWS storage automatically creates new TEMP files allowing for more growth.

I hope i'm clear as we are just trying to limit the TEMPDB to a certain size.

Is this a setting within AWS policies ?

JR

• My guess here is that you didn't configure TEMPDB correctly because if you set a MAX SIZE on TEMPDB, that's as big as it will go.

Even the AWS documentation indicates that putting a MAX SIZE value is useful if you don't want TEMPDB to grow out of control:

https://docs.aws.amazon.com/AmazonRDS/latest/UserGuide/SQLServer.TempDB.html

To quote that article - "To prevent the tempdb database from using all available disk space, set the MAXSIZE property."

Are you sure that the AWS TEMP files that are being automatically created are being used for TEMPDB?

The above is all just my opinion on what you should do.