Request for review of Star schema design

• Hi all,

I'm new to Data Warehousing, and could do with some comments on a star schema design I've created. This schema's purpose is to hold discrete contact or resource use events relating to a student at an educational institute. The grain is a discrete student-interaction related event, and the fact tables are factless fact tables. An example use-case is a timeline of events that indicate interactions with a student.

I'm working through Kimball's The Data Warehouse Toolkit 3rd Edition and am familiar with SCD's, star and snowflake schemas.

Could I please get some comments on any flaws or schema design principles I've violated in the attached design, or improvements I could make? As this is my first attempt at designing a schema myself I'm a little unconfident.

Thanks,

Andrew

• There's certainly a lot to digest in that ER diagram. I have a couple of questions offhand, but they may just be my lack of understanding of the requirements you're working with.

- Related to FACT_PRINT_EVENT, there's a dimension DIM_PRINT_DETAILS that has PAGES in it, I'd think that would be in the fact table so you could easily calculate usage.

- Related to FACT_CMS_EVENT, there are 3 dimensions I'm not sure I understand why they are separate? DIM_EMAIL_ADDRESS, DIM_PHONE_NUMBER, DIM_ADDRESS. I'd think they might be attributes in DIM_PERSON or DIM_STAFF, maybe both? It's not clear what the business cases are for these.

- Is DIM_NETWORK_LOGIN_EVENT a fact table? I didn't see it related to any fact table, just other dimensions.

• Hi Chris, thanks for the feedback.

Chris Harshman (12/20/2016)

There's certainly a lot to digest in that ER diagram. I have a couple of questions offhand, but they may just be my lack of understanding of the requirements you're working with.