Reporting Services: Drawing a Buffer on a Map

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Reporting Services: Drawing a Buffer on a Map

• Nice topic and presentation.

What other tools have you used for mapping data?

412-977-3526 call/text

• Hi, thank you for your post.

So far I haven't used any other tools for representing spatial data in SQL Server.

Now I'm trying Datazen, and waiting for the General Availability of Power BI, to test map features of both products.

• Nice article. I have no experience with goespatial data in SQL server, so wanted to give this a try. I've followed the steps exactly at least 10 times, but am getting an odd error in SSRS.

In SSMS, with the sample create database script, there is an interesting new output result, spatial results. So, the spatial data is good.

However, following all steps in SSRS exactly, when dragging a map to the design surface, selecting SQL server spatial query, I receive an error "the selected dataset does not contain any spatial field." Very odd. The database returns a spatial field and so does the dataset when opening it in the query designer.

Could this be a setting in my Visual Studio SSRS setup or something else I should look at?

• This is all what I need to implement in my system! Thanks a lot!

• This link was handy for doing a map with excel:

http://www.clearlyandsimply.com/clearly_and_simply/2009/08/choropleth-map-template-usa-by-counties.html

412-977-3526 call/text

• joshua.dancy (7/22/2015)

Nice article. I have no experience with goespatial data in SQL server, so wanted to give this a try. I've followed the steps exactly at least 10 times, but am getting an odd error in SSRS.

In SSMS, with the sample create database script, there is an interesting new output result, spatial results. So, the spatial data is good.