Replication help

• Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the dba side of things, and wondered if you could give me some pointers as to a possible solution to an issue that's occurred where I work.

On site A we have 2 sql servers in Always On Availability Group with a very high-throughput DB, and up till last week had a server on site B that was kept in sync via replication.

Without going into detail, replication was broken between Site A and Site B last week, and since then we've struggled to re-enable replication between the sites. My first thought was to stop access to the DB on Site A for a period of time whilst we get replication back up and running using a full backup, and wondered if anyone could suggest anything different I could try. I think we have licences for Redgate SQL Compare so that might be another potential workaround?

Thoughts and comments greatly appreciated.

• Thanks for posting your issue and hopefully someone will answer soon.

This is an automated bump to increase visibility of your question.

• jpnorman103 what kind of replication?

Are you replicating schema changes?

Alex S
  • jpnorman103 wrote:

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the dba side of things, and wondered if you could give me some pointers as to a possible solution to an issue that's occurred where I work.

On site A we have 2 sql servers in Always On Availability Group with a very high-throughput DB, and up till last week had a server on site B that was kept in sync via replication.

Without going into detail, replication was broken between Site A and Site B last week, and since then we've struggled to re-enable replication between the sites. My first thought was to stop access to the DB on Site A for a period of time whilst we get replication back up and running using a full backup, and wondered if anyone could suggest anything different I could try. I think we have licences for Redgate SQL Compare so that might be another potential workaround?

Thoughts and comments greatly appreciated.