Replace large table with 2 and view without breaking legacy app.

• I would appreciate any help I can get.

I am new to instead of triggers, and am trying to do something with instead of triggers and a view that may not be possible.

I have an existing table similar to following:

CREATE TABLE dbo.BigTable

(

[OrderID] [varchar] (31) NOT NULL ,

[TableID] [int] NOT NULL ,

[Col3] [int] NOT NULL ,

[Col4] [varchar] (32) NULL ,

[Path] [char] (255) NULL ,

CONSTRAINT [BigTablePrimaryKey] PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED

(

[OrderID],

[TableID]

)

)

We have a 3rd party app that accesses and updates this table.

I wish to create two tables and an updateable view to replace this table that will not break the 3rd party app.

I have created the following 2 tables and view:

CREATE TABLE dbo.NewTable

(

[Col3] [int] NOT NULL ,

[Col4] [varchar] (32) NULL ,

CONSTRAINT [NewTablePrimaryKey] PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED

(

[OrderID],

[TableID]

)

)

CREATE TABLE dbo.NewTableDetail

(

[EffectID] [int] NOT NULL ,

[Path] [char] (255) NULL ,

CONSTRAINT [NewTableDetailPrimaryKey] PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED

(

[OrderID],

[TableID],

[EffectID]

)

)

CREATE VIEW dbo.BigTable

AS

SELECT

nt.OrderID,

nt.TableID,

ntd.EffectID,

nt.Col3,

nt.Col4,

ntd.Path

FROM dbo.NewTable nt

INNER JOIN dbo.NewTableDetail ntd

ON nt.OrderID = ntd.OrderID

AND nt.TableID = ntd.TableID

The goal is to allow us multiple detail records for each BigTable record, with EffectID added as Detail key field.

The original record will always have an EffectID of 0.

I have attempted to write instead of triggers so that when the app attempts to

insert or update the view, it will instead do the command on the new tables.

One of the problems I am having is that I want a default EffectID of 0 to be

used by every query that doesn't specify an EffectID so that existing queries will continue to work.

I have a COALESCE(EffectID, 0) AS EffectID FROM INSERTED in the insert and update triggers,