RedGate’s SQL Backup Pro 7 requirement that you install SQL Server CE on every SQL Server you plan to Backup/Restore

• DISCLAIMER: This is in no way a criticism of RedGate as I have been an 8 year veteran of their SQL Prompt product and plan to continue using it for the foreseeable future. We’ve also used their SQL Monitor product for a few years and switched to a competitor’s product inly because we needed it to take into account the nuances between virtualized SQL Servers and non-virtualized.

My concern is that in order to use SQL Backup Pro I have to install SQL Server CE (Compact Edition) on each SQL Server that I want to backup from or restore to. I have SQL Backup (the GUI piece of the product) installed on its own Server yet the install of SQL Server CE is something that has to be done on all the servers I want to backup from or restore to. This to me seems like an unreasonable requirement. I know that the reason for installing SQL Server CE is because SQL Backup Pro uses it as a cache of the backup and restore history but why is that done at each SQL Server and not just on the server where SQL Backup Pro is installed?

Personally this a big issue for me because it effectively means installing a second copy of SQL Server on every existing SQL Server that I want Backup pro to work with.

So is this something that’s a standard ion SQL Backup software these days? Anyone have any thoughts on whether or not this requirement is something that they would see as prohibitive (cause them to rule out the use of SQL Backup Pro)? Am I just being unreasonable in not wanting to install SQL Server CE on all my SQL Servers?

THOUGHTS?

Kindest Regards,

Just say No to Facebook!
  • I think it's silly....why would I want another install of SQL Server on one of my SQL Server boxes? Either allow it to be 'centralized' and/or give me an option to have the software create a database on my existing SQL Server install.

-SQLBill

• Hi,