Rebuilding indexes

• Hello All,

Can anyone give me the best practices for rebuilding indexes in sq server?

I got red gate monitoring alert saying many of table indexes have more than 90% fragmentation.

So i performed index rebuild and statistics.

After this the transaction log increased hugely. I was panicked and performed tlog backup and shrinking log file continuously. while doing this thank god the disk space came back to normal.

If i choose to go with maintenance plan, the rebuilding indexs for some of the tables is not possibe. How to go with rebuild and reorganize indexes same time?

also if i go for rebulding indexes online then will it impact on production?

Generally what is the best practice to for index maintenance?

In which scenario i can go for online and offline index.

when to go rebuild and reorganise?

if i perform rebuilding indexes on all tables will this be wrong?

As i am new to dba activities. i need help to understand this all deeply.

Thanks in advance for all your help and guidance.

• This was removed by the editor as SPAM

• Quite a few people use Ola Hallengrens solution for this, if you google that name it will come right up.. just schedule the job to run during your maintenance window weekly.  If you do this often enough most time you will only need to reorganize not rebuild.

• If you don't have mirroring or log shipping or anything else running that would be damaged by changing the Recovery Model, do a log backup, change the recovery model to BULK-LOGGED, do your REBUILDs (NOT REORGANIZE... it's useless except for LOB compression and not very good at that, either and it's always fully logged), change back to the FULL recovery model, and take another log backup.

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code: