Questions to ask your clients DBA?

• I work as a developer/analyst for a software company. We have new clients that want to host our SQL Server based product on their servers and years of experience with clients and our sale staff leads me to believe that detailed deployment issues need to get determined early in the process.( I'm not cynical, just pragmatic...)

So I'm thinking that a list of questions instead of requirements may be in order to determine the environment the client runs. (People tend to ignore requirements until there is a crisis at roll out.) Besides the general SQL Server and Windows Server questions, hardware specs, backup details, admin credentials, what other questions would you ask?

🙂

• Heh... in cases like this, I believe that being cynical is a healthy thing to do.

I wouldn't isolate the converstation nor the requirements to just the DBA... there may be OPs people who actually own the Windows Server that SQL Server is being run on and the DBA, in fact, may have absolutely no privs at the operating system level and, thus, have no clue about the environment that SQL Server is actually installed on other that what (s)he can see from various SQL Server properties windows.

IMHO, the proper way to do this is to cleany and clearly identify the required system configuration from a hardware standpoint, an OS standpoint, and then the SQL Server standpoint. Those requirements should be included as "Chapter 1" of an "Installation and Deployment" manual with many chapters. Have the customer sign off on each chapter and create a Service Level Agreement that also contains what is and what is not covered as well as the hours covered and how long the coverage lasts.

Then talk with the DBA...

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code: