Query to fetch top SQL statements

• Hi All,

Please help me in getting the below information. I prefer T-SQL statements over GUI dashboard reports

1. Fetch TOP resource consuming queries (Active and Historical) by elapsed time.
    2. Track a particular query based on SQL ID.

Actually I am an Oracle DBA, but started with managing MS SQL recently.

• Sounds like things I would have used Trace Files for. But I hear Extended Events have more functionality. I don't have much need for either these days. so can't help much on E.E.

• My opinion - I wouldn't reinvent the wheel.  There are a LOT of good monitoring tools out there and I would just use one of those.

The good SQL monitoring tools will provide that information for you out of the box along with a lot more information.  Point number 2 is a big one as tracking a particular query by its ID is only good while that session is active.  If I am using session ID 55 and then I finish my query and close the session, session ID 55 will have no information in the instance OR someone else may have grabbed session ID 55 and the query they run could be drastically different than mine.  Using Extended Events you could find the query run at a specific time by a specific ID, but you are sifting through a lot of data and it will use a lot of disk as SQL isn't capturing this data automatically for you.  And depending on how you configured the XE (extended event), you may end up having the data get too old and disappear off the end of the logs.

Now, a good SQL monitoring tool will allow you to configure the number of days of data you want to capture as well as send out alerts when certain things happen.  Like if query XYZ starts running a lot slower than it did previously, you should get an alert.  or a backup fails, you get an alert.  Once you get the monitoring tool configured well, you can go to the dashboard and view the relevant metrics and work off of those.