QOD 11/25

• Although this question is highly technical, I was able to get the answer in only a few minutes of research using online help. I suspect that most of the people that got this question correct took the time to do a little research. Am I correct?

• Yes, but there nothing wrong with knowing how to search for information

Frank

http://www.insidesql.de

http://www.familienzirkus.de

--
    Frank Kalis
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Webmaster: http://www.insidesql.org/blogs
    My blog: http://www.insidesql.org/blogs/frankkalis/[/url]

• It's true that this question can be answered with a small amount of research - I did the same thing. However, the point of the question isn't always knowing the answer, it's how you find it, what you learn when you're looking for it and whether you agree with it when you do find it. I think QOD for 21/11 proves that ! As a developer I don't often have to worry too much about the administration of SQL Server but it's still interesting to read about topics I wouldn't normally come into contact with, such as how SQL server's underlying storage structure works. (hmmmm, how sad is it that I find that stuff interesting?!) It's up to you whether you read just enough to find out the answer or take the opportunity to read a bit more whilst you're looking.

Cheers,
    mia

Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

• Surely it's the same for every question.

The answer isn't a secret, the information required to answer the question is out there somewhere. Some of it you will already know, some you will need to research.

SQL Server (and IT in general) is such a complex and fast changing world that it's impossible to know everything. Even if you do, it's all changed the next day, and you have to learn it all over again.

This is why sites such as this one are becoming more popular.