Protecting Data

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Protecting Data

• If your test data is truly too close to real data, then it probably should be secured just like prod. If you can't obfuscate it efficiently enough, then secure it better.

Jason...AKA CirqueDeSQLeil
    Learn Extended Events

• "If that is true, then we then need secure development environments and treat them like production servers".

Yes and no. If you are off shoring or have a third party develop your solutions then I would agree you need to anonymize your data. If your development team is part of your organisation then anonymizing your data is pointless and sends the wrong message to your programmers. It is pointless as normally such a task is performed by programmers anyway. It sends the wrong message as if you cannot trust your internal programmers with your data then who can you trust and trust is a two way street.

I have been a programmer for nearly 20 years and I consider the privacy of corporate data and corporate information of paramount importance. I have been privy to such sensitive information and I can say programmers are generally all round top you beaut guys (except for the odd nitwit). The Australian Computer Society (ACS) is strong on ethics as part of its membership and the ethical use of corporate data falls into this category - and this is the reason why.

Not taking anything away from the importance of data and the security around it I believe there is a larger issue that needs some highlighting – the gender issue – where are all the women progs? I have met 5 in 20 years – and 2 of these were at CBit and I only met these briefly.

C'mon! Women Progs of the world Unite.

..back to Visual Basic 6...nanoo nanoo.....

• If you're using production data, then it depends how strongly you're wanting to anonymize it.