Programming Training

• I am looking at picking up a couple of training classes this fall in programming. What do you experienced dba's recommend? I would like to take classes that will make me more marketable in the future. Currently I have intermediate VBA and T-SQL programming skills. I was thinking maybe VB.NET or XML. Any help or guidance would be appreciated.

• http://www.sqlservercentral.com/Forums/Topic695088-149-1.aspx#bm695796

bpowers (4/13/2009)

Not quite sure how to go about the suggestions. To say I am a novice is an understatement. Here is the table I put together. How do I implement the suggestions into my table?

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/Forums/Topic712216-149-1.aspx

bpowers (5/7/2009)

What is the best approach, for a novice, to move the two tables from my existing database and set them up in a new database? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

bpowers (6/10/2009)

I am looking at picking up a couple of training classes this fall in programming. What do you experienced dba's recommend? I would like to take classes that will make me more marketable in the future. Currently I have intermediate VBA and T-SQL programming skills. I was thinking maybe VB.NET or XML. Any help or guidance would be appreciated.

I know this sounds mean but as a person who conducts such technical interviews and based on your recent history, if you go into a technical interview claiming "intermediate" knowledge of SQL Server, you may have a couple of surprises that you didn't expect. I recommend a more in-depth study and practice on the basics to increase your marketability.

All kidding aside, many of the DBA's sleep with Books Online, attend technical seminars, attend the local PASS chapter, and participate heavily in forums just like this one. They also have a copy of the SQL Server Developer Edition on their laptop or home PC and spend a little time each day practicing the "SQL piano".