Prevent sp_ Procedures with SQLCop

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Prevent sp_ Procedures with SQLCop

• Is there a compelling reason as to why we should not be writing procedures with "sp_" prefix?

• Is there a reason why you wouldn't just use native policy management in SQL to achieve the same?

SQL DBA
    Every day is a school day, and don't trust anyone who tells you any different.
    http://sqlblogness.blogspot.co.uk

• Intention behind my question was to learn why it's a bad idea. SQL Server is not my expertise yet. I am an amateur SQL developer. I have begun learning things about SQL.

I used to write SQL procedures with sp_ prefix. Your post caught my attention, for obvious reasons.

• Vaidy Mohan (1/15/2015)

Is there a compelling reason as to why we should not be writing procedures with "sp_" prefix?

"sp_" is the prefix used for system stored procedures, so there are two reasons why it's a bad idea:

(1) SQL Server always looks first in the master database when it is asked to execute a "sp_" stored procedure. When it doesn't find it there, it looks in the current or specified database. You therefore waste time looking in the master database. The performance impact may be noticeable if the stored procedure is frequently executed.

(2) There's a chance that a future version (or even service pack) of SQL Server will use for a new system stored procedure the very same name you chose. If that happens, your code will probably break.

John

• Thanks for the insights, John. I do realize now why that's a bad idea.

• Is there a list of standard object nomenclature for indexes, procedures, functions, and views (etc) that most teams should follow?

• SQLvis (1/15/2015)

Is there a list of standard object nomenclature for indexes, procedures, functions, and views (etc) that most teams should follow?