Offsite backups

• So this week I'm a BI Developer turned DBA (not by choice) and am looking into off-site backups for a couple key new Accounting/Finance applications (stuff that can be audited, subpoenaed, etc).  This is something I haven't done for years and am looking for some guidance. Frankly speaking, I don't know where to start. For example - we'll likely be keeping years of data, in the form of monthly backups. I like the idea of having old backups that we have to retain moved to an off-site secure location. Anyone have vendor recommendations or call-outs for things I should consider? 

Thanks!

"I cant stress enough the importance of switching from a sequential files mindset to set-based thinking. After you make the switch, you can spend your time tuning and optimizing your queries instead of maintaining lengthy, poor-performing code."

-- Itzik Ben-Gan 2001

• I think adding your jurisdiction/location/retention requirements and any other regulatory considerations might help others to know what to recommend to you. Reading between the lines I think you are probably in the States?

• Alan.B - Tuesday, February 12, 2019 12:52 PM

So this week I'm a BI Developer turned DBA (not by choice) and am looking into off-site backups for a couple key new Accounting/Finance applications (stuff that can be audited, subpoenaed, etc).  This is something I haven't done for years and am looking for some guidance. Frankly speaking, I don't know where to start. For example - we'll likely be keeping years of data, in the form of monthly backups. I like the idea of having old backups that we have to retain moved to an off-site secure location. Anyone have vendor recommendations or call-outs for things I should consider? 

Thanks!

It depends on the budget. This link will give you some idea : https://www.brentozar.com/archive/2007/10/backing-up-sql-server-my-own-mediocre-practices/

Muthukkumaran Kaliyamoorthy
    https://www.sqlserverblogforum.com/