Obese log file

• I am relatively new to sql server.

This morning I noticed that the filesize of one of my database's .LDF file was 3GB. Even though a backup file of the database is only 400mb. Sounds crazy to me. What could be going on?

ps i use sql server 2000. the corresponding .MDF file is around 500mb.

• If you do not have recurring log backups your log will continue to grow as DB backups do not truncate the log file. If you do not require transactional recovery you can switch your recovery mode to simple which basically truncates the log on checkpoint. For the immediate need you can run a backup of the log (or truncate it) then do a dbcc shrinkfile on it to shrink the footprint.

HTH

Ray Higdon MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA

------------

Ray Higdon MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA

• I suggest you do a search of the topics, especially in the Backup forum. This subject has been covered quite a lot.

So, look through the forums, find what has already been discussed and if that doesn't answer your questions, then let us know what else you need answered.

-SQLBill

• Thanks for your answers. All sorted now.

• thanks yogi

• Here is a script my company uses regularly to clean up large logs. The last statement is to ensure the size information is up to date. We had several instances where it's not.

-------------------------------

DECLARE @DB nVarchar(100),

@SQL nVarChar(1000);

SELECT @DB='MyDatabase'

SELECT @SQL='BACKUP LOG '+@DB+' WITH TRUNCATE_ONLY'

EXEC sp_ExecuteSQL @SQL

SELECT @SQL='DBCC SHRINKDATABASE ('+@DB+')'

EXEC sp_ExecuteSQL @SQL

SELECT @SQL='DBCC UpdateUsage ('+@DB+')'

EXEC sp_ExecuteSQL @SQL

-Regards

Edited by - dragon_1973 on 09/30/2003 11:37:11 AM

-Regards

• thanks dragon_1973

• quote:

Here is a script my company uses regularly to clean up large logs. The last statement is to ensure the size information is up to date. We had several instances where it's not.

DECLARE @DB nVarchar(100),

@SQL nVarChar(1000);

SELECT @DB='MyDatabase'