Newbie to SQL - Experienced Programmer looking for Book Review

• I have programmed for over 20 years with some exposure to Java, SQL and VB but need to delve further into the SQL world. As I am a motivated learner with a good analytical mind, I am looking for a good book to start learning some advanced SQL techniques - Anyone have any reviews - Good, Bad or Indifferent?

• First, you must realize that SQL is NOT SQL... most books on SQL I've seen rely on supposed advanced techniques using ANSI SQL.  Others are based more on what Oracle has to offer (or, I should say, doesn't have to offer ).  I think, given your years of experience with SQL, you will be sorely disappointed with just about any book you buy.  I know I have... and I've been programming in one form or another since 1968 (Good Grief, eh?).  My first program was "written" by punching banana-plug wires into a wiring board on unit record equipment.

For an example of my relative level of disgust with such books... In my early years with MS-SQL Server (I didn't have the web as available as I do now), I bought and desparately searched several supposed "advanced" SQL books for a way to delete all but the latest "dupe" for all records in a table.  I even took a $2,000 advanced course on SQL just to find things like that out.  All of the books and all the instructors all said the same lousy thing... "If you've done everything right, you won't have any dupes in your table."  It was the correct but still useless answer.  But, I digress...