Multiple Data Files? Why?

• Hello, 1st post! I'm an MCSE/Network Admin who's gettting a job which is ALL SQL stuff. I've been told to really learn T-SQL and all the non gui stuff as I guess like Networking, it's much stronger.

I've been reading in my books about giving a database multiple data files. I'm wondering why you'd do so? Can you direct certain data to save in certain files? I don't quite understand why you'd want, "some data over here, some data over there" unless you could control what went where, say for the sake of backup.

If someone could shed some light on this, I'd really appreciate it!

• Well, darn, I answered this and when I hit Post Reply the system threw it all out! 

Anyway, to try to answer your question again.  First, the GUI part isn't all bad, it can help you start to see how to actually write SQL using the drag-and-drop interface in Enterprise Manager.

Now to answer the question about using multiple tables in ANY database.  Let's suppose that you're working something like customers and their orders.

We need to gather certain information for each customer, like CustKEY, CustName, CustAddress, CustCity, CustST, CustZIP, CustPhone, CustFAX, CustEMail and any other information we need about our customers.

We also need to keep track of each Order created on behalf of each Customer, so we have an Orders table with fields CustKey, where we generate an Order Number as CustOrdKEY , OrdDate, OrdTotal, OrdTax and perhaps other info.

Now, for EACH Order, we need to have OrderLines, where we use the CustOrdKEY, OrdLineKEY, PartNo, Description, Price, OrdQuantity (not necessarily in this order) and other possible info.

These relationships are one-to-many, where each customer can have many orders and each order can have many orderlines.