Move DB

• Hi everyone

My SSD is starting to fill up so I am looking at buying a new drive and moving the DB instance to that new drive.  Setting up SS2019, SSIS, and WinSCP was not easy to do so ideally I do not want to move/touch/reinstall them.  I just want to move the actual DB I am using to the new drive.  How can I do this?  I have never done this before so I need help from experts.  Any help you can give is much appreciated.

Thank you

• and what have you googleed and read on the documentation about moving datafiles? there are plenty of examples and documentation is rather clear on what to do.

• frederico_fonseca wrote:

and what have you googleed and read on the documentation about moving datafiles? there are plenty of examples and documentation is rather clear on what to do.

Internet has a lot of garbage advice so I try to stay away from it.  If there is a reliable resource that has answers to my question then I am totally open to it.

• well.. on that case you should not be trusting this site either - garbage can be anywhere.

your solution is to turn, which it seems you haven't so far, to microsoft documentation - which happens to be one of the links google returns to you on this subject - unless you also consider that as garbage.

• @Frederico,

As you know, MS doesn't make it easy to find the correct documentation for doing certain things.  Do you have a link that might help the OP out?

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)