Microsoft Sql Server DBA Salary - Full time vs Contract

• I have 10 years of experience as regular full time employee as MSSQL DBA - unfortunately, with a small company with some 20+ on premise servers running about 100+ databases with no HA or clustering experience. The earlier roles before the DBA role, I was in tech support and web development.

Comparing my salary to salary.com, it looks like I'm on DBA II (2 - 4 years experience)  Median to 75% range or DBA III (4 -6 years experience) 10% - 25% range and no where / on < 10% of the DBA IV (7+ years experience)

As I'm approaching mid 40s, I'm wondering what salary should I be targeting / looking for, both as full time employee or as contractor. I'm in Dallas, TX.

Thank you

• If this isn't a prelude to spam (like I think it may be), then don't target salary... target what you like to do because you're going to have to do it every day.

If this is a prelude to spam, then don't target salary... instead, target celery to go with the spam. 😀

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)

• Also, salaries are very regional. A DBA in Tulsa probably isn't paid what a DBA in NYC is paid (honestly, they should be, but they aren't). This isn't specific to DBAs either. It's a general thing. Funny enough, demand plays a factor. My son, an engineer, not a DBA, went from Massachusetts, where there is still manufacturing, but not that much, to Oklahoma, where there is a ton of manufacturing, and his base salary went up, substantially, for the same job. Same with IT jobs. Regionality will make a difference.