Merging data in SSIS

• Hi all,

I'm pretty new to SSIS and don't know the best way (or any way to do it for that matter).

I have two data sources in my SSIS package, the first is a flat file that comes from an external supplier that contains a field that may be one of two different styles of reference (Lets call them RefA and RefB for ease of use).

The second source is a table that contains RefA and RefB so I can perform a lookup.

How can I link source one to source two leaving my reference column with RefA if it contains a RefA value and change it if it is RefB to RefA?

I've tried using Lookups and merged joins but I just get errors that make no sense, have been looking at this on and off for ages now. Unfortunately we don't have a SSIS expert on hand so could do with a pointer in the right direction!

Many thanks,

Rich

Hope this helps,
    Rich

[p]
    [/p]

• Can you post some more detail on the file and table structure plus a few rows of sample data as well as the desired result?

• Hi Eric,

Thanks for your reply. I have actually soved the problem by just doing an update statement in an execute sql task. However I don't believe this is the optimal way of doing it.

The sql table just contains 2 attributes (RefA and RefB)

The text file has an attribute called Ref which is the first attribute of the file. The rest of the file just contains updated information from a third party that I have no problem with.

Ref will either contain a value from RefA (9 digit numeric) or RefB (8 character alphanumeric)

RefA is our main reference and I wish to change all instances of Ref to the RefA value if the record has a RefB value.

All records in the SQL table will contain a RefA value but not all of them will contain a RefB value (RefB is a legacy system reference)

It might be more clear if I provide a generic version of the update statement so you can see via T-SQL what I am trying to achieve.

Update TF

SET TF.Ref = ST.RefA

FROM TextFile TF