Match vertical records to next greater date to find datediff

• I need to find the amount of time a user spent watching videos.  I have play/pause actions recorded with time stamps as shown below:

In this case, the textAuditID is effectively the userID so this is only showing logs for that single user...

I need to tie together the play action and the pause action and find the datediff between. It is possible that there isn't a completing pause action (if they closed the browser before it could send back an action)
    What I am just not sure of is how to efficiently know which play goes with which pause.  This table will have a ton of records when in use so I want to do this one right.
    Any pointers or thoughts? 
    I have been writing SQL for 20 years so it isn't new (but it isn't my main job either) so giving ideas should get me there hopefully.
    Thanks!
    Brandon

• You can use LEAD() to get the next viewChecked value - calculate the difference between the current viewChecked and the next viewChecked.  Add up the times associated with the play action to get the total play time and total pause time.

If you don't have something to identify the end of the video - then you would have to assume the last play action completed to the end of the video.  That is going to require that you have the total video time available which you can then use to determine the last play time (video_length - total_play_time = last_play_time).

Jeffrey Williams
    “We are all faced with a series of great opportunities brilliantly disguised as impossible situations.”

― Charles R. Swindoll

How to post questions to get better answers faster
    Managing Transaction Logs