many to many query question

• Hi,

I just designed a many-to-many relational database that goes a bit like this:

Artists table:

artistID

firstName

lastName

some other fields

Products table:

productID

name

price

Since each artist can have many products, and each product can have many artists, it's many-to-many and so I have the relational table:

ArtistsProducts table:

artistsProductsID (primary key)

artistID

productID

Typical many-to-many and it works, but it's my first time with it. I need to query this database to retrieve all artists and their associated products in one query set, so I made this query and it works, but I want to know WHY it works (I kind of guessed at it and can't figure this out):

SELECT artists.artistID,

artists.firstName,

artists.lastName,

products.productID,

products.name,

products.price

FROM artists,products,artistsProducts

WHERE (artists.artistID = artistsProducts.artistID) AND (products.productID = artistsProducts.productID)

Please explain so that I may learn something from this, or in case I didn't do this right, fix it.

Thanks,

Dave

• Small fix (maybe it'll clear it up too 🙂 ) :

SELECT artists.artistID,

artists.firstName,

artists.lastName,

products.productID,

products.name,

products.price

FROM artists inner join artistsProducts

on artists.artistID = artistsProducts.productID inner join products on artistsProducts.artistID = products.productID

basically you are asking sql server to first match the Artists to the artistsproducts with a matching id, then to match this first part of the results set to the products table (again with matching id).

btw a join written like this is not an 'standard accepted syntaxe'... but I guess it's always gonna work

FROM artists,products,artistsProducts

WHERE (artists.artistID = artistsProducts.artistID) AND (products.productID = artistsProducts.productID)

• Thanks, I'm starting to follow you here, and I appreciate the move toward better syntax, but did you make a typo?