Loading x number of CSV files into x number of unique tables of a database

• Hi,

This is my first time here so hope I am posting this at the right place. I recently started a new job which involves SQL scripting and loading tables into a database using SSIS within SSDT

Is there a way to load multiple CSV files into a database such that a new table is created for every CSV file loaded. Hope the following explanation of a scenario paints a clearer picture

Every month or so I receive a large number of excel file (anywhere from 40-100) from the client. I convert these excel files into CSVs after removing some unwanted header rows

The composition of the files are such there are different groups of files where each group contains information for different department or business. The structure of the files within a group are the same but vary from group to group, i.e Group1 files have the same structure and so on. The files are named

Filename1_Group1.csv

Filename2_Group1.csv

Filename3_Group1.csv

Filename1_Group2.csv

Filename2_Group2.csv

Filename3_Group3.csv ......

Once I have the CSVs ready, the following are the steps I perform using SSIS in SSDT. (Note that I repeat these for each and every file that it has now become muscle memory but it is extremely time consuming!)

Step 1 : I add a single data flow task and click on the Data flow tab in ssdt

Step 2: I then drag and drop "Flat File Source" and "OLE DB Destination" into the canvas. I create a connection by joining the blue line from the flat file source to the OLEDB destination controls. I name the Destination "Filename1_Group1"

Step 3: I then double click on the flat file source, add Filename1_Group1.csv, change Text Qualifer to  " . Next, I go to the Advanced properties in the flat file connection manager editor and change  the output column width to 800 for all the columns and then click "OK"