Lets help the experts help themselves

• This is a site maturity question for http://www.sqlservercentral.com

When you exceed one million SQL Server 'professionals' I think you have to ask how many are really are really professionals, and how many just use SQL Server sometimes and can't even manage to press F1 in SSMS in order to find the answer a question.

I have been working with SQL Server since 6.0 so I know quite a lot about it now. I have about 15 years experience, and I despair at some of the contributions the regulars seem pleased to address from very ignorant users.

Some of you guys are clearly BRILLIANT and KNOW LOADS. (Some others just think they do). So why do you respond to people who can't be bothered with the basics!!

I am picking Gail (who I have never seen a poor answer from) as an example just for today .. there are loads more of you bright guys I could choose...

So Gail (sorry to pick you out but your regular contributions make you a candidate) why did you even engage yesterday with a guy who claimed that using a SAN was a really bad idea for a SQL database. YES you did .. I saw it. And we both know his point was not worth a dime.

The point being, this resource can either be great for experts to discuss, or devalue to a site where people just ask how they can backup a database. Over and over and over again,

On a more positive note, perhaps Steve Jones can think of a better way to divide the questions up.

Regards

Tim

• I guess I would wonder why it can't be both? I was one of the people who knew little when I first joined SSC, and while I don't think I'm an expert, I believe I am competent, and at least part of the reason is because folks like Gail, Steve, Jeff, and many others, who know more were willing to help out someone who was sometimes lost and sometimes still am.