Learning Isn’t Easy, But It’s Vital

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Learning Isn’t Easy, But It’s Vital

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• Hi all !

As a self educated Dba, I just can but approve more than 200% what Grant says here !

In France, the term « expert » has been a buzzword replacement for « engineer » those days ; In the meantime, the market has changed a great deal : the requirement for multi-skilled Dbas is now rather the rule... you’re expected to be an expert in - let’s say SQL Server, Oracle, MySQL ... and a good knowledge of MongoDB being a real plus.

But I really wonder : How can you get a deep practical knowledge of all those RDBMs (which is, to me, the real meaning of the « expert » word) ?

I’m currently unemployed and searching for a new position as a Dba , I endeavor to get deeper knowledge of SQL Server (by the way, Grant’s books and papers are of tremendous help - thank you SO much Grant for this !) ; But currently, I get a job offer for a Db2 for z/OS expert ! I’m 57 years old and do not practice Db2 for more than ten years ... lol !

So Grant, you’re utterly right in what you write here, but to me.. it’s a bit desperating ... sighs...

Eric (from Paris)

• Yes absolutely.  It is my career and I am responsible  for my continuing education even if I were someone planning to retire in one year.  Never stop learning.  Be willing to invest/pay for training or for resources for a cloud environment to practice.  The days of employer sponsored training are gone.

• Eric, first, thanks for the kind words. Second, while I'm not unemployed currently (and fingers crossed, "currently" lasts another 10 years), I do feel your pain. I'm also 57 and keeping on top of this stuff is a struggle. As I argue above though, it's a worthwhile struggle.