Learning Is Challenging, So, Forgive Yourself

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Learning Is Challenging, So, Forgive Yourself

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• Way to go, Grant!  I'm still learning new stuff about T-SQL and SQL Server. 🙂

And good article although I do have a couple of black eyes from beating myself up about learning certain things.  No concussions yet though. 😀

On thePostGre SQL thing, I took a look at the temporal functions to try to help someone out.  Man... was I surprised!  SQL <> SQL.  And you've really got to read the documentation.  For example, at first glance, DATEDIFF looks familiar but the documentation says it's not.  It also has other functions that we might use DATEDIFF for in T-SQL.

The cool part is that if you know T-SQL and how to do things with the temporal functions of T-SQL, you can read the documentation in Postgre SQL and have an instant understand once you realize that your gonna have to use a different function,  It really helps to already know what to look for.

I haven't actually had the chance to actually write any working code.  I learned just enough to help someone else out that didn't have the advantage of knowing what needed to be done to get what they wanted.

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)

• Thanks Jeff.