Knowledge Transfer

• Just looking for a bit of advice. I'm a dba in a pretty large organization, there is one other dba who has been her quite a while. I've only been with my current employer for 6 months. I feel like I've done good work in my time here, however I am still learning the environment. My partner gave his 2 weeks notice this morning.....saying, the next two weeks are yours, if there is anything you need to know, now is the time.

So how do we begin? Anybody gone through this and can provide some strategies that worked....or were a total failure?

• I'd ask to shadow him/her for a day or two. I'd also go through servers, look at all jobs, and packages, and ask for turnover about what each does, even verbally. Make notes, or record some of the xfer.

The biggest things that will bite you are likely "favors" or side projects that the DBA has done for others. I'd ask about who he/she mostly hears from in the company, and what types of things they need. That will likely clue you in.

• presuming production dba role?

You want -

documentation, documentation and documentation, in particular info on server setups, installation and upgrade procedures, backup\restore strategies, and DR procedures. What he does not have, ask him to write

contacts - internal and external

change management procedures

any outstanding changes, most common change types

problem management

incident raising procedures, any outstanding incidents, most common problems

SLAs

On call arrangements

What monitoring and capacity planning is in place

access methods and passwords

If the size of the environment allows it, go through each instance, ask him to point out any little anomalies on each, concentrate on most problematic servers

Get a contact number for him at his new place!

---------------------------------------------------------------------

• And buy him a few lunches. That will go a long way when you call later.

• You've been there for 6months, so you know your role/part.