join - how to get only the first row from the left table

• Hello,

I started learning T-SQL 4 years ago and this is the first time I come here so...nice to meet to you 🙂 !

Here is a simple query excecuted in AdventureWorks2017 :

SELECT 
    SOH.[SalesOrderID],
    SOH.[DueDate],
    SOH.[SalesOrderID]
    , SOD.[OrderQty]
    , SOD.[UnitPrice]
    FROM
    [Sales].[SalesOrderHeader] SOH
    LEFT JOIN [Sales].[SalesOrderDetail] SOD
    ON SOH.[SalesOrderID] = SOD.[SalesOrderID]

Result :

WhatIGet

And here is the result I want instead :

WhatIWant

(blank = NULL)

I want only the first row from the left table... So no replication (I guess this will lighten data tranfert) and better lisibility of the result.

Is this possible ?

I have never seen that before, anywhere.

Thank you for any help 🙂

• This topic was modified 4 years ago by  JackIsJack.
    • This topic was modified 4 years ago by  JackIsJack.
    • This topic was modified 4 years ago by  JackIsJack. Reason: Datasource
    • This topic was modified 4 years ago by  JackIsJack. Reason: better screenshot... I hope
  • I cannot see the source data ...

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• Sorry, I accidently deleted the initial query. See my initial message to understand.

Since then, I think I found a solution, but it doesn't look very elegant.

SELECT 
    (CASE WHEN 1 = row_number() over (partition by SOH.[SalesOrderID] order by SOH.[SalesOrderID] )
    THEN SOH.[SalesOrderID]
    end) as [SalesOrderID],
    (CASE WHEN 1 = row_number() over (partition by SOH.[SalesOrderID] order by SOH.[SalesOrderID] )
    THEN SOH.[DueDate]
    end) as [DueDate],
    SOH.[SalesOrderID] as [SalesOrderID]
    ,[OrderQty]
    ,[UnitPrice]
    FROM
    ORDER BY
    SOH.[SalesOrderID], SOD.[SalesOrderID]

• This reply was modified 4 years ago by  JackIsJack.