Is There a Simpler Way to Backup All Databases with a Maintenance Plan Running as a Proxy?

• I'm trying to do this right, but for the love of all that is good I swear Microsoft want me to have a nervous breakdown. SURELY it should be a relatively common requirement to create a Maintenance Plan which backs up all databases on a server and runs using a Proxy? I've never done specifically this before, and it's making me mad (can you tell? 😉 ).

Simply, I need to create a Maintenance Plan which contains several schedules for backing up the databases (Logs, Differentials, etc.). I've created the Proxy (because it has permission to the file share where the backups are being saved) and specified that the Maintenance Plan Jobs should "Run As" that user, but after hours of trial and error (because each attempt to run the backups takes a long time), it's still not working, and I can't help but think there must be a better way of doing this than me going into every database, creating the User I'm using as a Proxy, adding it to the db_operators role, adding it to the db_ssisoperator role in MSDB, granting it execute permissions to various Stored Procedures in the MSDB and Master databases... and so on. It's a tangled mess and, as I say, I can't believe this is the intended way of doing this. I've given up after the umpteenth attempt with an error about the Job not having permission to execute sp_create_subdir in the Master database. I could, of course, grant that permission to the appropriate account, but this is getting ridiculous.

Is there not a way that I can create the Proxy and then just grant it permission to backup every database (e.g. a server role, rather than having to do it for each database) and grant a corresponding Login permission to execute Maintenance Plan Jobs without having to give explicit permissions to all sorts of Stored Procedures in System Databases and memberships of multiple roles in System and User databases?