Is C# Better?

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Is C# Better?

• Generally there is no functional difference between C# and VB.NET. Everything you can do in one language can be done in the other, too.

I've started with VB5/VB6 but now I'm a C# developer.

Why? Because I changed the company (before .NET became released) and I had to develop with C/C++. As .NET raised the company moved from C++ to C# because it looks more alike.

I think the main reason why people use C# instead of VB.NET is, there are more professional C++ and Java developer than VB6 developer. A C++/Java guy or gal who has to move to .NET will choose C#.

• Heh... I have an odd personal preference... I don't like languages that require semi-colons or line continuation characters. It seems that they should all be smarter than that. 😉

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.

Change is inevitable... Change for the better is not.

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)

• Jeff Moden (11/12/2009)

Heh... I have an odd personal preference... I don't like languages that require semi-colons or line continuation characters. It seems that they should all be smarter than that. 😉

Me too 😀 I absolutely can't stand semi-colons at almost every line ... what a waste (and possible errors, too!).

• And all those curly brackets. Should they be typed to the right

if (wosh) {

..statement;

..statement;

}

or aligned

if (wosh)

{

..statement;

..statement;

}

The second style is used in the Microsoft community.

The first style is used by strong individuals, like the creator of C and C++.

I prefer the Python way:

if wosh

..statement

..statement

Now, to my real question: