is a+ certification is good for carrier ?

• Hello forum members,

I am new in this fourm. Actually someone suggest me to do a+ certification course. But i am confused about a+ is good for me. can anyone help me about what will me my salary after a+ certification. what are the career option available after a+ certification. And what are the good institutes or online methods available for this course.

thaks

• Hi Avan

Certification is certainly good for your career. I have taken certification regularly the last 15 years and my cv now certainly looks impressive. However you need to show your stuff at work - which again shows on your salary. It takes time to get "up-there" and sometimes you need to change employer. Certifications are great to learn the products and no employer expects you to know all the stuff if you are a newbie.

I have landed several jobs based on my certifications as my contestors have said "they have worked with sqlserver the last 10 years". I have also done this but I have taken certifications for each version that has come out (yet to take the SQL 2014 exam but I have 2000, 2005, 2008 and 2012). In addition I normally take the Windows MCSE/ITP exams (skipped 2012 and will go for 2016 when it starts to appear).

Don't mind so much about always getting the latest and greatest. Most businesses are on SQL 2008 now and appreciate that you know their existing platform. So take your time and pick one by one. I try to do 2 per year. One at spring and one at autumn.

• Honestly, I do not recommend the COMPTIA A+ certification for you. The best way to maximize your earning potential is to take remedial English classes until you can take and pass the TOEFL exam.