In what circumstances are there no other option than to use cursors?

• I'm studying for the Data Access exam... so I was just wondering if there were ever a case when cursors are necessary. I know that one should test a cursorless example against a set based one and see which performs better... but does anyone have any pointers on where they're a necessary evil? About the only thing I can come up with is when you need to call a non-deterministic function and loop through the records for some reason (e-mail?).

Sorry for the vague question - wasn't sure how else to explain it.

Thanks!

Pieter

• well i use cursors alot for management reports that go across 50 servers.

so that you create the dyanmic sql for the server name and a cursor thru the servers

• supposed you have a stored procedure (sp_helptext for example), and you want to call it for every procedure/function or view in the database;

you'd need to either use a cursor, or generate all the commands in a big varchar max and execute it ; but regardless, because of the procedure's design, you are handcuffed into using some sort of loop or cursor.

now, there might be a different WAY to do the same thing (in this case reading the definition from sys.sql_modules), but there might be a business step that follows the same criteria...expecting a value or a key, and it has to be performed multiple times.

but in that example, there's no way to call the proc multiple times without the looping construct, right?

my rule of thumb is that if i'm building stuff based on metadata, cursors are usually ok.

Lowell

--help us help you! If you post a question, make sure you include a CREATE TABLE... statement and INSERT INTO... statement into that table to give the volunteers here representative data. with your description of the problem, we can provide a tested, verifiable solution to your question! asking the question the right way gets you a tested answer the fastest way possible!