I'm Not a Lawyer, But...

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item I'm Not a Lawyer, But...

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• Having had to read legal stuff from time to time, it's fine to read it.  I read SCOTUS decisions, but not as part of my job.  There are terms that I don't understand.  If the company's lawyers do not know about the law, they must also be hiding under a rock.  It is up to them to understand it, and then your job to translate the understanding into practical knowledge.  It can also be dangerous to practice law without a license....

• Oh, I'm not practicing law or offering legal advice. It says right there in the editorial, first, legal and business, second, technical. However, meeting the technical needs of pretty much anything without a good understanding of where the request is coming from can lead to poor technical choices. That's why I do advocate that data professionals impacted by these laws, read, study, and understand where and how they apply. That's not to say that we are interpreting them or taking them under management for our organization without legal and business input. Both things can be done.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:

• at least it will let you know when to ask questions, and the lawyers can confer and give an official answer that jibes with the position they will/may have to take in court. That's usually appreciated by both the law team and management

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Please follow Best Practices For Posting On Forums to receive quicker and higher quality responses