I need to delete 180 million records from a table

• I have a very large table in one of my databases in Azure SQL and I have been asked to delete the old data which I have NEVER done before. This table has 5 years of data, but we only need to keep 4 or 5 months of data. I did create the Archive DB from this existing database so we have a backup. Now I just tested this script and it took me 12 minutes to delete 500 records. I am not sure how fast it will be if I drop the index on the ID column. Is there a different method I can use to delete approximately 180 million records?

DECLARE @ChunkSize INT = 100;
    DECLARE @MinID INT = 1000, @MaxID INT = 1500;
    DECLARE @RowsDeleted INT;

SET @RowsDeleted = 1;

WHILE @RowsDeleted > 0
    BEGIN
    DELETE TOP (@ChunkSize)
    FROM YourTableName
    WHERE ID BETWEEN @MinID AND @MaxID;

SET @RowsDeleted = @@ROWCOUNT;
    END

"He who learns for the sake of haughtiness, dies ignorant. He who learns only to talk, rather than to act, dies a hyprocite. He who learns for the mere sake of debating, dies irreligious. He who learns only to accumulate wealth, dies an atheist. And he who learns for the sake of action, dies a mystic."[/i]

• a few other things will affect performance of delete.

does it have triggers

does it have links to other tables (and is cascade delete enabled) e.g. is part of a parent/child foreign key relationship

are there other indexes on the table

majority of cases, and if there aren't child dependencies on the table, for high volume of data such as this one, where you are deleting over 75% of the table content the best way, assuming you can have a small downtime window is to do following within a single explicit transaction

<li class="text--left" style="text-align: left;">rename original table

<li class="text--left" style="text-align: left;">insert records that are to be kept onto a new table with same name as original table

<li class="text--left" style="text-align: left;">drop renamed table