How to use my Variables?

• Hi All,

I'm new to SSIS so sorry for the simple question.

My structure is as follows

EXECUTE SQL TASK:

This returns it's data set to a variable called User::objFiles

FOREACH LOOP (ADO Enumerator)

This uses the above object User::objFiles and populates to variables.

User::ServerFileName and User::UserFileName

FILE SYSTEM TASK (with my loop container)

This task is used for copying files based on the data in my objFiles variable.

Basically what I want to do is to set the source of the File task to be a concatenation of a variable called:

User::SourcePath + User::ServerFileName

The User::SourcePath default value is "C:\Files\"

Now I can't concatenate these two in the actual Task (not that I can see or work out)

so was wondering how people deal with this situation?

Thanks

Chris

----------------------------------------------
    Try to learn something about everything and everything about something. - Thomas Henry Huxley

:w00t:
    Posting Best Practices[/url]
    Numbers / Tally Tables[/url]

SQL-4-Life
  • In the file connection manager, click on properties and then click on expressions.

Create an expression for connection string and use the expression builder to add your user variable adn the system variable

• what type of connection should I be creating?

Try to learn something about everything and everything about something. - Thomas Henry Huxley

SQL-4-Life
  • OK found another solution.

I changed the properties of my variable to be an expression and then build the expression based on that

SQL-4-Life
  • Were you using a Flat-File Connection ?

• actually didn't use a connection all.

I just used the paths as variables.

However I have come across another problem in that if the files doesn't exist my I get errors my code doesn't continue.

should I be checking to see if the file exists first? if so how?