How to remove quote marks using SSIS and a little C#

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item How to remove quote marks using SSIS and a little C#

• interesting and a good example for SSIS - but does not catch all cases, neither addresses the real issue that is that the file was badly created and is therefore not a CSV file

how will your regex deal with

"1005","Rosamond "Rose"" Puzo","Y","12/11/09"

"1005","Rosamond ,"Rose" Puzo","Y","12/11/09"

In many cases, but again not all, searching for "," is a better bet to replace this by another delimiter - and replacing the first and last quote.

sample - new delimiter should be a combination that would normally not be used

• do not use double quote as text delimiter on SSIS
    • replace "," by ^#^
    • remove first and last "
    • split by ^#^
  • I like articles like this one from which I can learn new, niche tips and tricks... especially where regular expressions are involved, because I'm not that good at them!

I question the solution, though. The name in the source was Suzann "Sue" Fullbright, yet after transforming the data we end up inserting Suzann 'Sue' Fullbright, which is not the same thing. It's close, but not the same. If you don't have the option of changing the delimiter in the source file, then this may be an acceptable alternative, depending upon the requirements.

Nice job.

• I haven't analyzed your RegEx, but isn't there *inherent* ambiguity in certain situations that are impossible to definitively resolve?

What if the text of a field's data contains quote-comma-qoute, like this:

"1005","Rosamond "," Puzo","Y","12/11/09"

The *sending* system (the process that generates the comma-delimted file) is supposed to definitively handle every situation by replacing all embedded " with ""   (ie: replace all embedded CHR(34) with CHR(34)CHR(34)), and the receiving system can definitively resolve all of those back.