how to properly index?

• I am not sure how to decide on how I should index my tables so the query is able to run as fast as possible.  I am fairly new to SS.  My queries are all SELECT.  Some use GROUP BY but others do not.  There are no DELETE/UPDATE.  How do I decide which type of index to use?

My query took close to 1 min to run.  I removed all the indices and now the query take about 25 sec.  I guess it took more time to build the index that it was better to not have them in the first place but this is not obvious to me at first.  I just did trial and error to see what the performance would look like if there was no index. However, I was under the impression that index are always useful but looks like my experiment proved me wrong.

Any advise you can give is much appreciated.

• This topic was modified 5 months ago by  water490.
  • Your question is easy to ask and can take years to answer.

It sounds like you could stand a lesson on what an "Execution Plan" is.  Please see the following link to what I consider to very likely be the best book there will ever be on the subject of Execution Plans.  It's by one other than Grant Fritchey and it's a completely free download (PDF) offered by this very site/Red-Gate.

https://www.red-gate.com/products/sql-monitor/entrypage/execution-plans

Of course, you should actually start with the MS documentation on what a Heap, Clustered Index, and Non-Clustered (all are in the "Rowstore" category... "Columnstore" is a seriously different animal).  When looking at such documentation, also make sure you check out the other links in the "Next Steps" section of such articles.

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sql/relational-databases/indexes/clustered-and-nonclustered-indexes-described